Sore

I’ve been doing some light exercising for a few weeks now. Working on chin-ups, push-ups and crunches mostly. I also have added in a bit of squats for the legs. And walking as much as i can, while taking the stairs at work.

But yesterday the kids and I started in on a “Couch to 5K” running program. The first week is only 1 minute running with 2 minutes walking, repeated six times. But already today I could feel it. That ache in my legs that I know from past experience means I’ll want to quit by the weekend.

But I also know that if I keep going, I’ll be jogging 3 miles in just a few months, and maybe even run a 5K with my kids beside me.

I don’t really need to run in order to backpack, or even climb Mt. Hood. But I actually enjoy it somewhat, and it’s a more time-efficient way to burn calories than walking, if your legs can handle it.

So we’ll keep going and try to make this a staple part of the exercise “diet”. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sore

  1. siauntie says:

    That ache in your muscles means “I did something great for myself today”, I loved myself and my family enough to push through it and I relish my successes no matter how big or small…

Leave a Reply

