Lots of Steps

My “horizon” goal … the target activity I want to do “out there” that is guiding my efforts, is to climb Mt. Hood (or a similar mountain) a few years from now, maybe after the kids graduate.  So I’ve been doing a little bit of reading, getting a feel for what that will take.

One of the guide companies posts some recommended physical conditioning before undertaking the climb, and among them is being able to handle a day hike with 3,000 feet of elevation gain.

I live in Central Kentucky.  There are no 3,000 foot climbs to train on.  But I work in a 4-story building… hmm…

There are 26 steps per floor, each 10″ high (yes, the floors are tall).  That’s 21′ 8″ per floor… or 35 trips up the building to make 3,000 feet.

Since I currently get a bit winded climbing just 3 flights once, I’ve got some work to do before I’m ready to tackle the mountain.  Also, since climbing stairs (or climbing anything) is a pretty specific activity, I’m going to need to work in some stair climbing into the routine.

It’s times like this that I wish I lived back in WV, where steep hills are everywhere

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

