Red Maple

Red Maple by BGTwinDad
Red Maple, a photo by BGTwinDad on Flickr.

OK, this isn’t actually a Red Maple. I’m pretty sure it’s a Japanese Maple.  But I named the photo after the color, not the species.

This photo was taken with my Lumix G5, but using my dad’s Canon FD 50mm f1.8 lens, one of the first shots I’ve taken with this lens.  And it was taken while on a sunset walk with my son.

Photographically, I like the color contrast between the leaves and the background, and the nice bokeh in the background (bokeh is the name for that out-of-focus effect where things defocus out to a bunch of impressionistic blobs of color).  Yay me for picking an aperture that would get the whole branch in focus but blur the background so effectively.  Wish I could remember what it was.  At this distance-to-subject it could have been just about anything, but it was probably f2.8.

I’m also pleasantly surprised at how bright the image turns out to be despite the relatively low-light conditions, just after sunset with a hill and a row of houses shading the spot.  The lighting conditions after sundown is one of the things I’m still getting used to, photographically speaking.

But sentimentally, I also like this photo for a few reasons.  First, I grew up with a big sugar maple in the front yard, and it was my climbing tree, so I have a soft spot for maples of all kinds.  Second, that is my father’s lens.  If my dad wasn’t fixing cars or making some other kind of repair somewhere, he probably had a camera in his hand, and he usually let me take some pictures too, so getting to use his lenses brings back some good memories.  Third, my son was with me, and we were having some “guy time” when I got the picture.

The only thing that would have made that better is if he had taken the picture with my camera and his grandpa’s lens.  Maybe next time…

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

