Lumix G5 ISO Review

One of the more important features of a digital camera is how well it handles the range of ISO settings it supports.  My Panasonic Lumix G5 is supposed to do fairly well in this regard (at least as a mirrorless system camera), but I wanted to find out just exactly how well it does, so that when taking “real” photos I would have an idea what to expect.

Thus, I took the following series of photos in order to compare the image noise at all the ISO settings for the camera.

I set the camera up on my tripod and aimed it at the town part of my model train layout.  Illumination is a single, 100W light bulb plus a small a mount of daylight filtering through the window blinds off to camera right.  Since I’m really just a beginner at image processing, I decided to let the camera do all the work.  

These images are “standard JPEG” images straight out of the camera, with no post-processing except the crop for the close-up.  I kept the aperture at f8, selected each ISO in turn, and allowed the camera to choose the shutter speed to get a correct exposure. The lens is a Lumix G-Vario 14-42 set at 33mm. Shutter speeds varied from 1/25 at ISO 12800 down to 2sec at ISO 160.

I hope these prove useful to you.  I’m not really qualified to make judgements, only to present data in the form of images. For each ISO I have the full-frame shot and a crop to 800×600 to show the noise detail.  I think you can see that it does fairly well up to at least 800, tolerable for web publishing of “snapshots” as far as 3200 and… well, beyond that is for you to decide.

I have the RAW images, and as soon as I can figure out a good way to do so, I will share them here as well.

ISO 160:
ISO 160
ISO 160

ISO 200:

ISO 200
ISO 200

ISO 400:

ISO 400
ISO 400

ISO 800:

ISO 800
ISO 800

ISO 1600:

ISO 1600
ISO 1600

ISO 3200:

ISO 3200
ISO 3200

ISO 6400:

ISO 6400
ISO 6400

ISO 12800:

ISO 12800
ISO 12800
 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lumix G5 ISO Review

  1. Pingback: Lumix G5 ISO Review | The Chestnut Hill & Frost River Railroad

Leave a Reply

