Kicking the Habit

P1050784 by BGTwinDad
P1050784, a photo by BGTwinDad on Flickr.

So long, old friend.

Today marks day seven of getting rid of (or at least severely curtailing) my Diet Coke habit.  Last Thursday, in response to one of my friends announcing he was kicking Mountain Dew to the curb in response to being overweight, in a sudden move of solidarity, I decided to quit my habit as well.

Why?  Well, lots of people will tell you about the health risks of sodas — even diet — and artificial sweeteners, and all of that.  For me, it’s the money.  I had a pretty hefty habit.  On a typical work day I would down at least six of the beautiful silver cans, plus at least two 32oz-plus sized fountain drinks.  Often more.  Considerably more.  When you add up even that baseline consumption, I was spending $75/month or more on Diet Coke alone. Wow!

So far I’ve gone through the usual withdrawal symptoms of severe headache, nausea, body aches, fatigue, lethargy, wanting to gouge my eyes out with a spoon… and today I actually feel mostly human.  I’m still drinking exactly one can per day.  It’s my afternoon “just home from work” treat.  I tried to go completely cold turkey, but by the time I made it home from work on Thursday I was ready to puke my guts up.  I just couldn’t quite do it, so I downed a can along with 2 Excedrin to get through the day.  Since then I’ve done pretty well with my one can.

At this point, I’m pretty sure I could even do without that one can, and I probably will start doing so in a few days.  We’ll see.  I’m looking forward to spending that extra $900/year on something else!

This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

